More Machine shop meanderings

Working at the machine shop has been educational and tons of fun.  I’m glad I sought out the opportunity. Taking the risk to try something new out of my past work experiences.  Putting oneself into a new field of work can open new ideas and create a different lens with which to view the world.   I’ve learned much new in the last 5 months about geometry, tolerances, manufacturing processes, machine design, tooling, materials, ect.  I’ve been using some of these new skills and the access to some precision machine tooling  to build a few new tools for my carpentry arsenal. A frame starting in late spring has got me fabricating these prototypes with the intent of putting them through the paces soon.   Recently finished fabricating this Guild inspired saw base for the 16 1/4 Makita cirular saw and a drill stand for drilling perpendicular peg holes.    More to come…..DSC_9247 DSC_9250 DSC_9251 (2) DSC_9249DSC_9212 DSC_9213 DSC_9211 DSC_9215

Previous Post
Comments are closed.